Motivational Music

“You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching, 
Love like you’ll never be hurt, 
Sing like there’s nobody listening, 
And live like it’s heaven on earth.” 
― William W. Purkey

We all have those days where we don’t feel like doing anything. Or maybe the day started off well, then something happened so you give up. Or you’re tired. Or any number of excuses we make to justify why we procrastinate or avoid tasks we don’t enjoy every day. While mindset is very important in overcoming these obstacles, and if you have a clear purpose then you will be more motivated, today’s tip is an easy way to push through the negativity.

A personal song has the power to motivate and inspire us. It can create emotion instantly, as we strongly link memories and feeling to sounds in our unconscious mind. Find yourself a theme song, or create a motivational playlist. We all have those songs that make us feel really good about ourselves and the world. You can alter your negative state in less than five minutes with the right song. I have mine preloaded onto my ipod next to my bed, so when I feel like hitting the snooze button, I just hit play instead. It is impossible to stay in bed while my favourite song plays as I just want to get up and dance with a big smile on my face! I have another playlist that I use for running. Again, when I don’t feel like going, I press play and am pumped up within seconds. It also keeps me going as I can set a steady and joyful pace. You can create different playlists for different tasks you need to complete, or moods you wish to create.

With technology these days, it is easy to download the song to any mobile or music device, or download the film clip from You Tube. Music is totally portable so it is available to you any time you need a boost. The theme song works well in the middle of the day, or when you get home after a hard days work, to keep you going and get you through tough times. You will know what song works for you, since everyone has different tastes in music, but I have listed a few songs from a range of genres that inspire, motivate and move me and my clients… What’s Yours?

Bon Jovi – Its My Life
Tina Turner – Simply the Best
ACDC – Thunderstruck
Queen – We Will Rock You
U2 – Its A Beautiful Day
Haddaway – Life
Incubus – Drive
Nickelback – If Today was Your Last Day
Foo Fighters – The Pretender
Grinspoon – Champion
Bruno Mars – Count on Me
Jessie J – Price Tag
Eminem – Lose Yourself
Lady Gaga – Edge of Glory
Vanessa Amarossi – This is Who I Am
Kelly Clarkson – Stronger
Alanis Morissette – You Learn
J Lo – Lets Get Loud
Gloria Gaynor – I Will Survive
Katrina & The Waves – I’m walking on Sunshine
Kool & The Gang – Celebrate
Irene Cara – What a Feeling (Flashdance)
Europe – The Final Countdown
Survivor – Eye of the Tiger
Vangelis – Chariots of Fire
Queen – I want to Break Free
Louis Armstrong – What a Wonderful World
John Lennon – Imagine
Michael Jackson – Heal the World
Judy Garland – Somewhere Over the Rainbow
Elton John – Circle of Life (The Lion King)
Peabo Bryson & Regina Belle – A Whole New World (Aladdin)
Josh Groban – You Raise Me Up
Bill Medley & Jennifer Warner – Time of My Life
Bette Midler – The Wind Beneath My Wings
Enrique Iglesias – Hero
Cyndi Lauper – True Colours
Mariah Carey and Whitney Houston – When You Believe
Mariah Carey – Hero
R Kelly – I Believe I can Fly
Gloria Estefan – Reach
Hot House Flowers – I can See Clearly Now
2 Unlimited – No Limit
Armand Van Helden – My My My
Ou Est Le Swimming – Dance the Way I Feel
Midnight Star – Midas Touch
Bob Sinclair – Rock this Party
The Pitcher – This is Who We Are

This entry was posted in Coaching, Personal Development, self help and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Motivational Music

  1. use says:

    Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity to your put up is simply cool and that i can suppose you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grasp your feed to keep updated with coming near near post. Thanks one million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  2. The list brought back lots of beautiful and wonderful memories….I love all of them. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

